• Home
  • Exhibitions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • The NMNM
  • Partners
  • press
    In order to receive the press kits and available images, please write to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • e-Shop
    Prochainement...

Construire une Collection - Villa Sauber
  • 21 mars - November 1, 2015

Mark Dion The Davy Jones’ Locker, 2011 Installation à partir des oeuvres des collections du NMNM, des Archives S.B.M et du Palais Princier Produit dans le cadre de l’exposition Océanomania à la Villa Paloma, 2011 N° d’inventaire. : 2011.10.1 Mark Dion The Davy Jones’ Locker, 2011 Installation à partir des oeuvres des collections du NMNM, des Archives S.B.M et du Palais Princier Produit dans le cadre de l’exposition Océanomania à la Villa Paloma, 2011 N° d’inventaire. : 2011.10.1 NMNM et Mauro Magliani & Barbara Piovan, 2011

March 21 - November 1, 2015

NMNM - Villa Sauber 
17 avenue Princesse Grace

Arman, Robert Barry, Christian Boltanski, Lourdes Castro, César, Mark Dion, Erró, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Claire Fontaine, Jeppe Hein, Linda Fregni Nagler, Camille Henrot, Bertrand Lavier, Anne et Patrick Poirier, Hans Schabus

Nouveau Musée National de Monaco (NMNM) presents the second chapter of Construire une Collection (Building a Collection), a selection of works purchased by the museum over the past ten years. The first chapter of the exhibition at Villa Paloma closed on June 7.

Since by definition a national museum is rooted in the history of the country in which is it situated, its mission is to acquire, preserve and promote collections to help safeguard the natural, cultural and scientific heritage. Over the years, the NMNM’s collection has therefore been enriched—in light of Monaco as a unique territory and the historical collections from the former Museum of Fine Arts (Musée des Beaux-Arts), the long-term loan of a collection of theatrical items from the Société des Bains, a donation of dolls and automata collected by Madeleine de Galéa—with works purchased, donated or on long-term loan thanks to state funding and the support of private patrons, particularly the Association of Friends of the NMNM and UBS AG, the Museum’s main partner.

The enhancement of a collection of heritage or historical importance is inextricably linked to considering contemporary art, because it is through living artists that the link between the past, present and future is maintained. The idea of contemporaneity is therefore self-evident, and, one could say, absolutely essential.

Construire une Collection will open to the public on March 21 at Villa Sauber. It will bring together works by Arman, Robert Barry, Christian Boltanski, Lourdes Castro, César, Mark Dion, Erró, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Claire Fontaine, Jeppe Hein, Linda Fregni Nagler, Camille Henrot, Bertrand Lavier, Anne and Patrick Poirier, and Hans Schabus. Most of the works presented here were either inspired by collections or the collections themselves have become or have inspired works of art in connection with time, history and memory.

At Villa Paloma, Construire une Collection featured works by William Anastasi, Richard Artschwager, Michel Blazy, Pascal Broccolichi, Daniel Gustav Cramer, Alain Declercq, Jean Dubuffet, Hubert Duprat, Jan Fabre, Jean-Pascal Flavien, Geert Goiris, Gary Hill, Rebecca Horn, Anish Kapoor, Jochen Lempert, Yinka Shonibare MBE, Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Su-Mei Tse and Cerith Wyn Evans. These artists offered a revisiting of form and Nature with the aim of re appropriating Nature in their own way to give it a new symbolic meaning. They therefore allow a redefinition of landscape while highlighting the relationship between art, science and architecture.

Construire une Collection (Building a Collection) is also an opportunity to review progress made since the project for the Museum was first conceived just over ten years ago in 2003, and five years after the opening of the Villa Paloma (September 2010), which, with the Villa Sauber (which had housed the Madeleine de Galéa Collection of Dolls and Automata for 35 years until 2009), definitively formed the Nouveau Musée National de Monaco.

 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
You are here: Accueil Villa Sauber Construire une Collection - Villa Sauber

Construire une Collection - Villa Sauber
  • 21 mars - 1 novembre 2015

Mak Dion, The Davy Jone's Locker, 2011 Mak Dion, The Davy Jone's Locker, 2011 NMNM/Mauro Magliani & Barbara Piovan

Du 21 mars au 1er novembre 2015

NMNM - Villa Sauber 
17 avenue Princesse Grace

Arman, Robert Barry, Christian Boltanski, Lourdes Castro, César, Mark Dion, Erró, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Claire Fontaine, Jeppe Hein, Linda Fregni Nagler, Camille Henrot, Bertrand Lavier, Anne et Patrick Poirier, Hans Schabus


Vues d'exposition





Le Nouveau Musée National de Monaco présente le second chapitre de l'exposition Construire une Collection, une sélection d’œuvres acquises depuis 10 ans. Le premier volet de l'exposition à la Villa Paloma fermé ses portes le 7 juin dernier. 
 
Si un Musée National s’inscrit par définition dans l’histoire du pays dans lequel il se trouve, il a pour mission d’acquérir, de préserver et de valoriser ses collections qui contribuent à la sauvegarde du patrimoine naturel, culturel et scientifique. Ainsi, la collection du NMNM s’est-elle au fil des ans enrichie - au regard d’un territoire singulier et des collections historiques de l’ancien Musée des Beaux-Arts, du dépôt à long terme du fonds des arts du spectacle de la Société des Bains de mer et de la donation de la collection de poupées et d'automates assemblée par Madeleine de Galéa et enfin d’œuvres acquises, données ou déposées à long terme grâce au budget de dotation de l'Etat et au soutien de mécènes privés ,en particulier de l'Association des amis du NMNM et de UBS S.A. partenaire principal du musée.

La valorisation d’une collection patrimoniale ou historique est indissociable de la prise en compte de la création contemporaine car c’est grâce aux artistes vivants que se maintient le lien entre passé, présent et avenir . La notion de contemporanéité est donc une évidence, et pourrait-on dire, une nécessité absolue.

Le second volet de l’exposition qui ouvrira au public le 21 mars prochain à la Villa Sauber réunira Arman, Robert Barry, Christian Boltanski, Lourdes Castro, César, Mark Dion, Erró, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Claire Fontaine, Jeppe Hein, Linda Fregni Nagler, Camille Henrot, Bertrand Lavier, Anne et Patrick Poirier et Hans Schabus. La plupart des œuvres présentées ici ont été soit inspirées par des collections soit les collections sont devenues elles-mêmes des œuvres ou des relectures pour des œuvres en lien étroit avec le temps, l'histoire et la mémoire.

A la Villa Paloma Construire une Collection présentait des œuvres de William Anastasi, Richard Artschwager, Michel Blazy, Pascal Broccolichi, Daniel Gustav Cramer, Alain Declercq, Jean Dubuffet, Hubert Duprat, Jan Fabre, Jean-Pascal Flavien, Geert Goiris, Gary Hill, Rebecca Horn, Anish Kapoor, Jochen Lempert, Yinka Shonibare MBE, Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Su-Mei Tse et Cerith Wyn Evans. Ces artistes proposaient alors une relecture de la forme et de la nature au travers de suggestions narratives et formelles visant à se la réapproprier afin de lui donner une nouvelle valeur symbolique ouvrant un large éventail de discussion sur la redéfinition du paysage tout en mettant en lumière le rapport entre art et science.

Construire une Collection c’est aussi l’occasion de faire un bilan de parcours, un peu plus de 10 ans après la naissance du projet pour la préfiguration du Musée (2003) et 5 ans après l’ouverture de la Villa Paloma qui, avec la Villa Sauber (qui abrité pendant plus de 35 ans la collection de poupées et automates de Madeleine de Galéa jusqu'en 2009), a définitivement formé le Nouveau Musée National de Monaco

 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Villa des Pins - B
8, rue Honoré Labande
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
Nous contacter
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
Vous êtes ici : Accueil Villa Sauber Construire une Collection - Villa Sauber