• Home
  • Exhibitions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • The NMNM
  • Partners
  • press
    In order to receive the press kits and available images, please write to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • e-Shop
    Prochainement...

Oscar Murillo, meet me! Mr. Superman (2013-2015) - Video Room Villa Paloma
  • 20.02-30.05.2016

Oscar Murillo meet me! Mr. Superman, 2013-2015 Video projection, 1:16 min (loop), colour, sound Courtesy the artist and David Zwirner, New York/London Oscar Murillo meet me! Mr. Superman, 2013-2015 Video projection, 1:16 min (loop), colour, sound Courtesy the artist and David Zwirner, New York/London

February 20 - May 30, 2016

NMNM - Villa Paloma - Videoroom
56 boulevard du Jardin Exotique

This videoprojection has been curated by Suad Garaveya-Maleki and Cristiano Raimondi

Oscar Murillo's paintings, videos, and performances are tied to a notion of community stemming from the artist's cross-cultural ties to London, where he currently lives and works, and Colombia, where he was born in 1986.

The video meet me! Mr. Superman depicts a street scene in Murillo’s hometown of La Paila, Colombia, in which people are seen chatting, drinking, and dancing to live music. Filmed by the artist on New Year’s Day, its footage shifts between documentary and experimental styles, using both wide-angle and detail shots that, at times, abstract the figures’ bodies into a chaotic arrangement of imagery, colour, and movement. Murillo employs sound as a major, integral component of the work: its soundtrack fades between the original audio and a commissioned score, interweaving loud, jarring street noise with tempered bell-like harmonies. 

The title of the work references a shot in which one of the revelers wears a Superman t-shirt. “The superhero is such a Western symbolic ideal of the perfect kind of human being,” Murillo explains. “I’m not a Western subject, so I’m saying meet me Mr. Superman. I’m meeting you, I’m giving you my context—this is where I’m from. This is what I do.” Shot from a point-of-view perspective, Murillo acts as a mediator between the depicted scene and the viewer. Therefore, whilst he is attending the festivities much like the people he depicts, it is through the act of immersing the viewer in the scene that Murillo highlights the dualities that pervade his oeuvre. “It becomes a nostalgic reference point, because my kind of non-western identity has begun to erode since I left that culture.”

Murillo earned his B.F.A. in 2007 from the University of Westminster, London, followed by his M.F.A. in 2012 from the Royal College of Art, London.

As part of Performa 15 in New York earlier this year, Murillo presented Lucky dip, a series of performances and installations that took place over the course of one week at the Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House, an important historical site in downtown Manhattan. An upcoming solo exhibition is planned for the spring of 2016 at the Yarat Contemporary Art Centre in Baku, Azerbaijan. Also in 2016, the artist will participate in the 20th Biennale of Sydney: The future is already here—it’s just not evenly distributed.

Murillo's works and projects have been the subject of solo exhibitions at prominent institutions worldwide. Most recently, presentations were held in 2015 at the Museo de Arte de la Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Bogotá; Centro Cultural Daoíz y Velarde, Madrid (part of ArcoColombia 2015); and Artpace, San Antonio, Texas. In 2014, Oscar Murillo: An average work rate with a failed goal showcased new paintings, sculptures, and video works at 40mcube in Rennes, France, organized as part of the 4th Les Ateliers de Rennes – Biennale d'art contemporain. Also in 2014 a body of new work was presented at The Mistake Room in Los Angeles on the occasion of the venue's inaugural exhibition. In 2013, the South London Gallery hosted the artist's first major solo show in the United Kingdom. In 2012, he created new paintings on site during a five-week summer residency at the Rubell Family Collection in Miami, which were shown later that year marking his first solo exhibition in the United States. Other venues that have exhibited his works and projects include the Showroom MAMA, Rotterdam (2013) and the Serpentine Gallery, London (2012).

In 2014, Murillo participated in numerous international group exhibitions, including The Forever Now: Contemporary Painting in an Atemporal World, The Museum of Modern Art, New York; 1st International Biennial of Contemporary Art of Cartagena de Indias, Cartagena, Colombia; RE: Painted | 'Painting' from the collection, Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst (S.M.A.K.), Ghent; Fútbol: The Beautiful Game, Los Angeles County Museum of Art; and Don't You Know Who I Am? Art after Identity Politics, Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst Antwerpen, Antwerp.

For Murillo's ongoing long-term project Frequencies, created in collaboration with members of his family and political scientist Clara Dublanc, canvases are temporarily affixed to classroom desks in selected schools across the globe, encouraging students aged ten to sixteen to create any kind of mark making—drawing, writing, doodling. He recently debuted the Frequencies project with a large-scale installation of canvases as part of the56th Venice Biennale: All the World's Futures in 2015. In conjunction, David Zwirner Books will publish a comprehensive book, standing as a directory of the project to date, which includes reproductions of canvases and photographs of schools and students.
 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
You are here: Accueil Villa Paloma Oscar Murillo, meet me! Mr. Superman (2013-2015) - Video Room Villa Paloma

• Accueil
  • Expositions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • Le NMNM
  • Partenaires
  • Presse
    Afin de recevoir les dossiers de presse et visuels disponibles, merci d’écrire à Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
  • e-Shop
    Prochainement...

Oscar Murillo, meet me! Mr. Superman (2013-2015) - Video Room Villa Paloma
  • 20.02-30.05.2016

Oscar Murillo meet me! Mr. Superman, 2013-2015 Video projection, 1:16 min (loop), colour, sound Courtesy the artist and David Zwirner, New York/London Oscar Murillo meet me! Mr. Superman, 2013-2015 Video projection, 1:16 min (loop), colour, sound Courtesy the artist and David Zwirner, New York/London

Du 20 février au 30 mai 2016

NMNM - Villa Paloma - Videoroom
56 boulevard du Jardin Exotique

Cette vidéoprojection a été proposée par Suad Garayeva-Maleki et Cristiano Raimondi

Les peintures, vidéos et performances d’Oscar Murillo sont liées à la notion de communauté que lui ont conféré ses attaches multiculturelles avec Londres, où il vit et travaille aujourd’hui, et la Colombie où il est né en 1986.

La vidéo meet me! Mr. Superman  montre une scène de rue à La Paila (Colombie), ville natale de Murillo, dans laquelle des gens bavardent, boivent et dansent sur une musique live. Enregistré par l’artiste le jour du Nouvel An, le film évolue entre le documentaire et des styles plus expérimentaux, utilisant à la fois le grand angle et des gros plans qui, par moments, transforment les corps des figurants en un arrangement abstrait et chaotique d’images, de couleurs et de mouvements. Murillo utilise le son comme une composante majeure et intégrée de son œuvre : la bande son d’origine se mélange avec une partition de commande, tricotant de bruyants bruits de rue avec des harmonies tempérées rappelant la musique des cloches.

Le titre du film fait référence à une scène dans laquelle un des protagonistes porte un tee-shirt à l’effigie de Superman. « En Occident, le super-héros est tellement l’idéal symbolique de la perfection humaine ! » explique Murillo. « Je ne suis pas un Occidental, donc je dis “Fais ma connaissance Mr Superman. Je vais à ta rencontre, je te montre mon environnement – c’est là d’où je viens. C’est ce que je fais“. » Le point de vue est celui de la perspective, et Murillo agit comme un médiateur entre les scènes à l’écran et le spectateur. Donc, tout en participant aux festivités comme les gens qu’il dépeint, c’est en entraînant le spectateur dans la scène avec lui que Murillo souligne la dualité qui marque son œuvre. « Cela devient un point de référence nostalgique parce que mon d’identité non-occidentale a commencé à s’éroder depuis que j’ai quitté cette culture. »

Murillo a obtenu un Bachelor of Fine Arts de l’Université de Westminster, Londres, en 2007 puis un Master of Fine Arts en 2012 du Royal College of Art, Londres.

Récemment, pour Performa 15 à New York, Murillo a présenté Lucky dip, une série de performances et d’installations qui se sont déroulées pendant une semaine à l’Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House, un site historique important situé au cœur de Manhattan. Une exposition personnelle est prévue au printemps 2016 au Yarat Contemporary Art Centre à Baku, Azerbaijan. Cette année, il participera également à la 20ème Biennale de Sydney : The future is already here—it’s just not evenly distributed.

Le travail et les projets de Murillo ont fait l’objet d’expositions personnelles dans de célèbres institutions à travers le monde, comme tout récemment en 2015 au Museo de Arte de la Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Bogotá; Centro Cultural Daoíz y Velarde, Madrid (dans le cadre d’ArcoColombia 2015); et à Artpace, San Antonio, Texas. En 2014, Oscar Murillo: An average work rate with a failed goal a été l’occasion de présenter des peintures, sculptures et vidéos inédites au centre d’art 40mcube à Rennes, France, dans le cadre des 4èmes Ateliers de Rennes – Biennale d’art contemporain. C’est aussi en 2014 qu’a été présenté un nouvel ensemble d’œuvres à la Mistake Room de Los Angeles à l’occasion de l’exposition inaugurale du lieu. En 2013, La South London Gallery a accueilli la première exposition personnelle majeure de Murillo au Royaume Uni. A l’été 2012, il a produit une série de peintures au cours d’une résidence de 5 semaines à la Rubell Familly Collection de Miami, laquelle a ensuite été présentée plus tard cette même année, marquant ainsi sa première exposition personnelle aux Etats Unis. D’autres lieux ont exposé son travail et ses projets, comme par exemple le Showroom MAMA, Rotterdam (2013) ou la Serpentine Gallery, Londres (2012)

En 2014 Oscar Murillo a participé à de nombreuses expositions collectives, parmi lesquelles The Forever Now: Contemporary Painting in an Atemporal World, The Museum of Modern Art, New York; 1st International Biennial of Contemporary Art of Cartagena de Indias, Carthagène, Colombie; RE: Painted | 'Painting' from the collection, Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst (S.M.A.K.), Ghent; Fútbol: The Beautiful Game, Los Angeles County Museum of Art; et Don't You Know Who I Am? Art after Identity Politics, Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst Antwerpen, Anvers.

Dans le cadre de Frequencies, un projet à long terme que Murillo a imaginé en collaboration avec des membres de sa famille et la politologue Clara Dublanc, des toiles sont fixées temporairement à des bureaux de classes dans des écoles sélectionnées à travers le monde, visant à encourager les élèves âgés de dix à seize à laisser libre cours à leur imagination via le dessin, l’écriture ou le gribouillage. Frequencies a été présenté pour la première fois sous la forme d’une grande installation de toiles dans le cadre de la 56ème Biennale de Venise: All the World's Futures en 2015. En parallèle, David Zwriner Books publiera un ouvrage complet incluant des reproductions des toiles et des photographies des écoles et des élèves, devenant ainsi un répertoire du projet à ce jour.
 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
Vous êtes ici : Accueil Villa Paloma Oscar Murillo, meet me! Mr. Superman (2013-2015) - Video Room Villa Paloma