• Home
  • Exhibitions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • The NMNM
  • Partners
  • press
    In order to receive the press kits and available images, please write to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • e-Shop
    Prochainement...

Project Room : Paul Sietsema Villa Paloma
  • October 18, 2015 - January 17, 2016

Paul Sietsema, At the hour of Tea, 2013, still from 16mm film Paul Sietsema, At the hour of Tea, 2013, still from 16mm film © Paul Sietsema, Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery

October 18, 2015 - January 17, 2016
In the frame of the exhibition Fausto Melotti





For this exhibition, Paul Sietsema has produced seven new works.

Paul Sietsema takes from secondary sources in his two-dimensional works and films, revisiting the mechanisms involved in the transmission of knowledge. The objects he chooses to reproduce make it possible for him to explore the ambiguous relationship between the material and the imagery that permeate our way of understanding history and culture. And indeed they come from the most diverse areas of knowledge.

The moment of actual creation is key. Sietsema's works are the outcome of specific processes that he formulates and puts into practice in his studio. This is a place of constant inspiration and concentration, allowing him to reflect on what it means to make art and on the instruments, both metaphorical and concrete, needed to achieve it. In a constant flow of media and materials, Sietsema brings into question the idea of reproduction. His enamel paintings that portray tools in a hyperrealistic manner, for example, are made by pouring enamel onto the objects and then taking digital photos of them. The digital image of each object is then impression-transferred onto a new support (often canvas), and then painted. Here Sietsema uses enamel again, in order to emphasise the resonances and dissonance between object and image. The subjects he chooses often directly or indirectly convey the idea that the work of art today is naturally included in, and perceived as part of, an economic system. This means that a precise monetary value can be attributed to the very act of painting (we see a recurrent use of coins). This theme also underpins his newspaper drawings, which start out from saved newspapers. From them, he replicated pages related to the socio-economic sphere. Newspaper is also seen as a context where private situations are made publicly visible through two-dimensional and linguistic representation.

Concurrently with the Project Room, the Video Room will present At the hour of tea, 2013

This work presents a sequence of arranged objects of the type commonly seen on a desktop. With this film Sietsema brings the tools of the study or office together with objects of contemplation often found there, overlaying time periods within the perceptual matrix of a workstation.

 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
You are here: Accueil

• Accueil
  • Expositions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • Le NMNM
  • Partenaires
  • Presse
    Afin de recevoir les dossiers de presse et visuels disponibles, merci d’écrire à Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
  • e-Shop
    Prochainement...

Project Room : Paul Sietsema Villa Paloma
  • 18 octobre 2015 - 17 janvier 2016

Paul Sietsema, At the hour of Tea, 2013, still from 16mm film Paul Sietsema, At the hour of Tea, 2013, still from 16mm film © Paul Sietsema, Courtesy Matthew Marks Gallery

Du 18 octobre 2015 au 17 janvier 2016
Dans le cadre de l'exposition Fausto Melotti






Pour cette exposition, Paul Sietsema a produit sept nouvelles oeuvres.

Dans ses œuvres en deux dimensions et dans ses films, Paul Sietsema part de sources secondaires dans le but de repenser les mécanismes de transmission de la connaissance. Ainsi, les objets qu’il choisit de reproduire lui permettent d’explorer la relation ambiguë entre matière et imaginaire qui détermine notre façon de comprendre l’histoire et la culture. Ces objets et ces images proviennent, en effet, de champs de savoir les plus disparates.

Le temps de réalisation est fondamental. Les œuvres de Sietsema sont le fruit de processus conçus et réalisés dans son atelier, lieu de concentration et d’inspiration sans relâche dans lequel se joue sa réflexion sur ce que signifie faire de l’art et  sur les moyens – métaphoriques ou concrets – pour y parvenir. Dans une continuité fluide de médiums et de matériaux, Sietsema interroge la notion de reproduction. Les œuvres qui représentent de façon hyperréaliste des outils, par exemple, sont réalisées par l’artiste en versant de la laque sur des objets qui sont ensuite photographiés. Puis l’image numérique de chaque objet est transférée par un processus d’impression sur un nouveau support (souvent une toile) et à nouveau peinte à la laque afin d’emphatiser résonance et dissonance entre objet et image, matériau brut et représentation. Les sujets choisis par Sietsema évoquent souvent de manière plus ou moins directe l’idée qu’aujourd’hui l’œuvre d’art est naturellement injectée et perçue à l’intérieur du flux économique, par conséquent le geste pictural est un geste auquel on peut attribuer une véritable valeur d’échange (il suffit, à cet égard, de se référer à la récurrence de l’image des pièces de monnaie). Ce thème est également central dans ses Newspaper drawings qui ont comme point de départ des journaux collectés dont il reproduit les pages liées à la sphère socio-économique  Le journal est aussi considéré comme un contexte dans lequel des situations privées sont rendues publiques par la représentation bidimensionnelle et linguistique.

En parallèle à la Project Room, la Video Room présentera At the hour of tea, 2013

Cette pièce présente un arrangement d’objets du genre de ceux qu’on trouve communément sur un bureau. Dans ce film, Sietsema rassemble les outils de la recherche ou du bureau avec les objets de contemplation qu’on y trouve souvent, superposant les périodes au sein de la matrice de perceptions d’un poste de travail.*

* Extrait de Seven Films by Paul Sietsema, co-publié par MCA Denver et Mousse Publishing, 2014.
 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
Vous êtes ici : Accueil