• Home
  • Exhibitions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • The NMNM
  • Partners
  • press
    In order to receive the press kits and available images, please write to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • e-Shop
    Prochainement...

Poïpoï, une Collection Privée à Monaco - Villa Sauber
  • 24 février - 30 avril 2017

Poïpoï, une Collection Privée à Monaco - Villa Sauber NMNM/François Fernandez, 2016

February 24 - April 30, 2017

NMNM-Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace

The Nouveau Musée National de Monaco presents the exhibition Poïpoï, Une Collection Privée à Monaco, a tribute to a couple of Monaco-based collectors and their pioneer spirit of decipherment.

The curiosity of F and J Merino, their encounters with Nice-based artists during the 1960s, and, in particular, their frequent visits to Ben’s shop (“Laboratoire 32”) would encourage them to develop an interest in contemporary art, which would blossom into a passion.

In 1967, FM also founded “Open”, an underground magazine, in cahoots with Marcel Alocco.

In the same period they discovered FLUXUS : George Brecht and Robert Filliou who had opened a place called “La Cédille qui sourit” in Villefranche-sur-Mer. Friends of friends came and went, Joe Jones, Dorothy Ianonne, Erik Dietman etc...and a crazy friendship was born, with stormy discussions and rocky finances.

For a while the couple kept its distance from the art world. A keen cook, FM became food critic for Gault & Millau and JM was responsible for the Public Relations of the Société des Bains de Mer. At that time they struck up a friendship with Helmut Newton and Alice Springs.

In the early 1980s, it was prompted by the interest of their son Edouard that they plunged back into the contemporary art world, focussing most especially on American appropriatonist photography (Richard Prince, Louise Lawler, Cindy Sherman).

In the 1990s, they hung out with the group hailing from the Grenoble School of Fine Arts: Dominique Gonzales-Foerster, Philippe Parreno, Pierre Joseph ... who are nowadays major figures in the international art scene.

Their apartment in Monaco would become a convivial meeting place (walls painted by Stéphane Dafflon, projects by Liam Gillick , Carsten Höller, and Franz West). A collection to be experienced, and always on the move, including a large number of internationally renowned artists, among them: Arman, Fischli &Weiss, Andreas Gursky, Georg Herold, Ann Veronica Janssens, Paul Mc Carthy, Philippe Parreno, Raymond Pettibon, Jim Shaw, Cindy Sherman, Shimabuku... which the Nouveau Musée National de Monaco will be showing from 24 February to 30 April in the premises of the Villa Sauber.


With regard to Poïpoï : In 1963, Robert Filliou and Joachim Pfeufer created the Poïpoïdrome, a functional relation between reflection, action and communication...
Why such a strange name as the Poïpoïdrome ? It was a form of thanks and tribute paid to the Dogon who live in the cliffs of southeastern Mali. In 1960, Robert Filliou had heard with pleasure about the Dogon and their famous Poïpoï both through Joachim Pfeufer and through the Dutch architect and ethnologist Herman Haan.
Poïpoï is a way of saying yes, a form of acquiescence, conciliation, exchange and peaceful reply. There is also an acoustic and musical dimension, akin to a tempo, which gives rhythm to the interlocutor's list.

 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
You are here: Accueil

• Accueil
  • Expositions
  • Collections
  • Publics
  • Le NMNM
  • Partenaires
  • Presse
    Afin de recevoir les dossiers de presse et visuels disponibles, merci d’écrire à Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
  • e-Shop
    Prochainement...

Poïpoï, une Collection Privée à Monaco - Villa Sauber
  • 24 février - 30 avril 2017

Poïpoï, une Collection Privée à Monaco - Villa Sauber NMNM/François Fernandez, 2016

Du 24 février au 30 avril 2017

NMNM - Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace

Le Nouveau Musée National de Monaco présente l’exposition Poïpoï, Une Collection Privée à Monaco, un hommage à un couple de collectionneurs basé à Monaco et à leur esprit déchiffreur et défricheur.

La curiosité de F et J Merino, leur rencontre avec les artistes basés à Nice dans les années 1960 et notamment leurs visites fréquentes au magasin de Ben (le «Laboratoire 32) vont les amener à s’intéresser à l’art contemporain, et c’est une passion qui naît.

En 1967, FM crée d’ailleurs «Open», magazine underground avec la complicité de Marcel Alocco.

Ils découvrent à la même période FLUXUS : George Brecht et Robert Filliou qui ont ouvert un espace «La Cedille qui sourit», à Villefranche-sur-Mer. Les amis des amis défilent, Joe Jones, Dorothy Ianonne, Erik Dietman etc...une folle amitié nait, les débats sont houleux et les finances difficiles.

Le couple prend pendant un temps distance avec le monde de l’Art. Féru de cuisine FM devient critique gastronomique pour Gault&Millau et JM chargée des Relations Publiques de la Société des Bains de Mer. Ils se lient alors d’amitié avec Helmut Newton et Alice Springs.

Dès le début des années 80 c’est avec l’intérêt de leur fils Edouard qu’ils replongent dans le monde de l’art contemporain s’intéressant plus particulièrement à la photographie appropriationniste américaine (Richard Prince, Louise Lawler, Cindy Sherman).

Les années 90 les amènent à fréquenter le groupe issu des Beaux-Arts de Grenoble : Dominique Gonzales-Foerster, Philippe Parreno, Pierre Joseph ... qui sont aujourd’hui des figures majeures de la scène internationale.

Leur appartement à Monaco deviendra un lieu de rencontres et de convivialité (murs peints par Stéphane Dafflon, projets de Liam Gillick , Carsten Höller, et Franz West). Une collection à vivre et toujours en mouvements comptant un grand nombre d’œuvres d’artistes de renommée internationale, dont : Arman, Fischli&Weiss, Andreas Gursky, Georg Herold, Ann Veronica Janssens, Paul Mc Carthy, Philippe Parreno, Raymond Pettibon, Jim Shaw, Cindy Sherman, Shimabuku... que le Nouveau Musée National de Monaco présentera du 24 février au 30 avril dans les espaces de la Villa Sauber.

A propos de Poïpoï : En 1963, Robert Filliou et Joachim Pfeufer créent le Poïpoïdrome, une relation fonctionnelle entre la réflexion, l’action et la communication...
Pourquoi un nom aussi étrange que le Poïpoïdrome ? C’est une forme de remerciement et d’hommage rendu aux Dogons qui vivent dans la région des falaises du sud-est du Mali. Robert Filliou a entendu parler dès 1960 des Dogons et de leur fameux Poïpoï qui lui plaît tant par Joachim Pfeufer et par l’architecte et ethnologue hollandais Herman Haan.
Poïpoï est une manière de dire oui, une forme d’acquiescement, de conciliation, d’échange, de réponse pacifique. Il a aussi une dimension sonore et musicale et intervient comme un tempo qui vient rythmer l’énumération de l’interlocuteur.

 
Nouveau Musée
National de Monaco
Administration
Monte-Carlo View
8 avenue Hector Otto
98000 Monaco
Tel +377 98 98 19 62
Fax +377 93 50 94 38
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
-
Villa Paloma
56, boulevard du Jardin Exotique
Tel +377 98 98 48 60
-
Villa Sauber
17, avenue Princesse Grace
Tel +377 98 98 91 26
Vous êtes ici : Accueil